Irish currency

Irish Currency Prior to the Year 1826.

Previous to the year 1826 Ireland had a currency of different value from that of Great Britain, although the denominations were the same, namely:——

[Format:] Old Irish value. Systematic name. British value.
4 Farthings = 1 Penny = 12/13d.
12 Pence = 1 Shilling = 11-1/13d.
20 Shillings = 1 Pound = 18s. 5-7/13d.
21 Shillings = 1 Guinea = 19s. 4-8/13d.

By the Act 6th, George IV, chapter 79, which took effect from 5th January, 1826, the currency of Great Britain was constituted the currency of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland, and debts contracted previous to the Act were paid in British currency at the rate of twelve-thirteenths of the amount of Irish currency. British gold and silver coins were constituted the legal currency of Ireland.

To convert Irish money into British Sterling, multiply by 12 and divide by 13.

To convert British Sterling into Irish Currency, multiply by 13 and divide by 12.

Source: Brown, William Alfred. The Merchants' Handbook of Money, Weights and Measures, with Their British Equivalents. London: Edward Stanford, 1879.

❖          ❖          ❖

"The past is a foreign country; they do things differently there."—Lesley Poles Hartley (1895–1972), The Go-Between (1953).

Contact   |  Copyright notice  |   Privacy statement   |   Site map

© Alison Kilpatrick 2014–2019. All rights reserved.